Tragedy!

Do you have anything in your life that you truly cannot live without?

I do… and it’s called peanut butter!  I realise that this is actually my first post dedicated to good old PB…but trust me, it won’t be the last! You see I am quite addicted. I cannot let go. I’ve tried. I really have. I even tried giving it up for lent- for Jesus! But sadly, that too was unsuccessful.

Although Peanut butter is seen as “healthy” if eaten in moderation (and it is relatively healthy, don’t get me wrong!), I have come to understand that with me and PB…there is no moderation. Nope. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was clogging up my arteries right now. Terrible thought, but true.

So today as I was whipping up my usual snack of peanut butter and banana on toast, I suddenly saw that the PB was almost finished.  I could see the bottom of the jar! A small panic attack occurred at this point… followed by a deep breath. Only one thing to do – get to the grocery store stat!

Now I’m a bit of a PB ‘snob’.  I only like to eat natural PB without added sugar, which inevitably means I end up paying more for my beloved bottle of creamy nuttiness  Some would say that forking out between R20 and R30 for a ‘spread’ is just going a bit far. But I think, if it’s something you love and are really into- (like clothes or food or art or pampering yourself), then why not pay a bit extra to get what you really want.  It’s all about what’s best for you and what your priorities are. (It appears mine might seem a bit distorted?! eeek).

At the moment my PB of choice has to be the Natural Crunchy peanut butter from Wellness Warehouse which retails for around R22 a jar. I used to be a fan of the Organic peanut butter from Woolworths but they have been having some trouble with their distribution as it was an imported product so most of the stores have stopped stocking it. 

There are so many ways in which to use peanut butter and if you enjoy it and keep reading this blog, you will see just a few examples of how I like to eat this delicious, sticky, protein-rich goodness.

Ok, must dash! Need to get to Wellness Warehouse before it closes. 

Oh the things we do for the things we love!

xxx

One Comment on “Tragedy!”

  1. […] stories, pre-6am trips to gym, farewell soirees for colleagues and getting surprise packages of peanut butter, Girl With a Teacup has been sashaying around the Blogosphere and doing something a little  […]


Leave a Reply

