Berry-liscious

I was chatting on BBM to a friend of mine the other day who lives in KZN and I was complaining about the terrible cold wet weather in Cape Town.

I realised what he said was true-  that Cape winters are made for two things…comfort food and red wine!

Would you argue?

Didn’t think so!

Luckily for me, this weekend offered me just that:)

the soup I made yesterday was like a big hug of warmth. Just what I needed to ward off the chill… and a delicious red from Edgebaston called “The Berry Box” -How cute is the name?! Most appropriate though, as it was filled with fresh, juicy berry notes- not icky and sweet but smooth and luscious with a long lingering aftertaste of blackcurrents and raspberries. Obviously the fruit was really upfront but there was nice, balanced acidity and the wine had a firm tannin structure that sort of held it all together. 

 

I am generally a fan of Edgebaston’s wines, although before this weekend I had only ever had their whites. I really enjoy their style of Sauvignon Blanc. It’s not too acidic for me.

The Berry Box is medium-bodied and a contempory blend of 6 cultivars: Cabernet sauvignon, Shiraz, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, Malbec and Petit Verdot.

I must just let it be known though that I made a mistake on Friday night by having it with a very spicy tomato and chickpea soup – not ideal! The spices TOTALLY overpowered the wine in every way possible.

Since then I’ve been drinking it by itself… although i suspect a small bit of Blueberry Lindt wouldn’t be a bad pairing 😉

xxx



Leave a comment