Craving A Cookie?

Today is my first real post about food.  Yes, finally!

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long!! Suppose I’m just “easing” into it slowly?

Right! On the menu…

Choc chip peanut butter cookies.

These  are made with spelt flour- not a very common ingredient found in South Africa. I cooked with it for the first time when I was in California last year. It has almost a ‘nutty’ flavour.

Similar in appearance to wheat, spelt has a somewhat tougher husk which in turn helps to protect and retain nutrients inside the grain, making it just a tad “healthier”. It also contains a bit more protein than wheat and was actually used as a food grain for animals. Yip!

You can use spelt flour in breads, pasta, cakes and cookies (like I’m doing today!) Although it’s pretty hard to find in most (ok, all supermarkets in SA!), you can get it at health stores like… ta daa…. Wellness Warehouse!  I must just warn you though, it doesn’t come cheap. A 500g packet will cost about R29.

Now, the recipe I’m working with today is from Jenna, an American blogger that I follow who incidentally also loves chocolate and yoga🙂

 

Ingredients:

1 cup spelt flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup oil

2 Tbps peanut butter

1/4 cup Golden syrup

1/4 cup chopped chocolate (I used dark)

1/4 cup chopped roasted and salted peanuts

Pre-heat your oven to 180°C. Sieve the flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the sugar and combine. In another bowl mix the oil, syrup and peanut butter until you get a smooth liquid. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and then the peanuts and chocolate. Work it into a dough and then form small balls. Place them on a baking sheet and bake for 10-15mins.

PS. Notice anything??  No butter! Yip, these cookies don’t contain any butter or eggs so they’re totally OK to give to your crazy vegan aunt 🙂

xxx

2 Comments on “Craving A Cookie?”

  1. Your photography is looking great! I guess you found your natural light. Keep the food posts coming, and I want YOUR recipes.


Leave a Reply

