High Protein Orange Quinoa cakes

If you’ve ever been to Cafe Roux in Noordhoek and tasted their flourless orange cake…you will appreciate this post (I hope).

Let me just say to those that haven’t yet had the privilege- this cake is TDF !!! (To Die For).

It’s made with ground almonds which offer a nice grainy texture and then of course orange…but not just a few Tbps of zest, no no!  The recipe for this cake (I have Bernadette’s cookbook in case you were wondering how I know all this) calls for 2 whole oranges that have been boiled for two hours and then pureed. 

Both my mom and I agree (she is probably more a fan of the cake than I am!) that using whole oranges really is the key to giving this cake its citrusy moist texture with just a touch of bitterness (obviously from the peel).

Anyway, this cake was my inspiration for the recipe I’m going to share with you today.

I still have some spelt flour left over from the cookies I made last week and thought I’d bake with it again. 

Now, I must just let it be known that I am a huge fan of quinoa. Some people cannot stand it but I am totally sure that floating somewhere inside of me is a madcap hippy vegetarian/vegan!

I am sold on all things considered “Superfood”, I make spinach and kale smoothies, I drink soy milk and I think I’m addicted to yoga.

Where was I? Oh yes! Quinoa- so having used quinoa in many savoury dishes, I started to experiment with it in sweet baked goods.  The result? Not bad actually. Not bad! Nutritionally, quinoa is great as it is a complete protein- meaning it contains all the essential amino acids all in the correct proportions for supporting the body’s functions.

So, with the “whole orange” method in mind- I created these little monsters yesterday. They really are rather healthy so I’m sure if you had one or two…(or four?), it wouldn’t be a problem!

I shall call them…dum dum dum, High Protein Orange Quinoa Cakes

-What you’ll need:

1 cup spelt flour

1/2tsp baking powder

2 ½ cups quinoa, cooked in simple syrup (equal ratio of water to sugar)

2 oranges

1 egg beaten

Desiccated Coconut for sprinkling

-How to:

Start by boiling the oranges (this will take a while so patience is required). Once the oranges are super super soft, crank up your oven to 180 degree’s C and get yourself a baking tray or muffin tin if you want to make individual cakes like I did. Puree oranges in a blender or food processor then pass the mixture through a sieve until you have a smooth puree. Let it cool.

Mix the flour, baking powder, and quinoa in a large mixing bowl. Combine the egg with the puree and fold this into the quinoa mixture. Spoon the batter into the muffin tin, sprinkle with coconut and pop in the oven for 20-25mins until cooked through.

These go really nicely with a little Truth coffee…hashtag JustSaying 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

