Patter Cake, Patter Cake

Who doesn’t love hot warm fluffy pancakes first thing on a winter’s morning?

I whipped this one up as soon as I got home from gym this morning and it totally hit the spot!

Now, a lot of people think of pancakes as being really unhealthy- but they don’t have to be.

The recipe I’m sharing with you today is one that I often jump to when I have “the craving” 🙂 It’s wholesome, quite substantial (it contains a good dose of low GI oats), and will keep you full for a good 4 hours or so.

I always find that my go-to topping always has to be smooth creamy peanut butter and banana.. don’t ask me why. For me it’s just the perfect combination- and one that I never ever get tired of!

What you’ll need:

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup spelt flour

1 Tbps ground flaxseed

1 tsp brown sugar

1/2 ts baking powder

pinch of salt

pinch of cinnamon

1 egg beaten

1/4 cup soy milk (or cow’s milk)

1/2 tsp vanilla essence/extract

1 banana for topping (optional)

peanut butter for topping (optional)

How to:

Combine all the dry ingredients, mix the milk with the egg and add the vanilla. Combine the wet mixture with the dry ingredients to form a wet-ish batter. Leave this for a few minutes so that the oats can soften slightly. Spray a  frying pan with some “Spray and cook” or a touch of oil and turn onto a moderate heat.

Pour the batter into the pan and allow to cook through. Flip the pancake after about 4-5mins until the underside is nicely browned. remove from the heat.

Slice up your banana and have it ready for the topping!

I inhaled this pancake in about 5 seconds flat! …and then slowly sipped on some freshly brewed green tea.

I say I hate winter… but do I really??!

xxx

Leave a Reply

