Buchu Tea

Cape Moondance Buchu Tea

So I went to see the oral hygienist the other day, such a nice lady…except that she made me feel like I never take care of my teeth, which I do! I really do.

‘Do you drink a lot of coffee and red wine?’ she asked. What was I going to do? Lie to her? With her fists still deep inside my mouth I nodded slightly.

‘Hmmm, I can see a bit of staining here and there. Do you also drink tea?’

DO I DRINK TEA??!!! She clearly didn’t know who she was dealing with here. I mean, my second name might as well have been tea.

‘Yes, a lot.’ I answered. And before she could even continue I had already decided in my mind that whatever it was she was going to say to me, would not deter me from my tea (or chocolate).

Luckily she just told me to floss more…which I can live with. Now I can’t imagine that this tea would give your teeth stains but who cares, it’s so delicious! It’s called Buchu tea and I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to try because I’m already fairly familiar with Buchulife sparkling water.

Made by Cape Moondance, a local company based in Stellenbosch, the tea is produced from the buchu plant, which is a traditional healing herb. The plant is protected and can be found growing naturally in the Western and Southern Cape of South Africa.

It is believed that the Koisan first used buchu to cure illnesses but also drank it during dances and rituals when the moon was full. So this product really is deeply rooted in South African soil. The health benefits (of which there are many) can be found on the Cape Moondance website, but just to mention a few:

-Good antiseptic and natural anti-inflammatory

-Detox agent, helping to rid the body of any excess water

-Aids digestion

-Helps in the prevention of cystitis as well as prostate and kidney problems

-Good for weight management

-Anti-spasmodic

-Used as general health tonic and to promote overall well-being

The tea itself is not bland and ghastly-tasting as one might imagine. The flavour is quite minty with a eucalyptus character. I find this refreshing and at the same time, soothing (My olfactory system is quite sensitive so it reminds me very much of the Issey Miyake fragrance, A Scent. Strange, I know!). The mouth feel is silky smooth with an aftertaste that leaves a feeling of cleanliness.

The tea is also free of any caffeine and is 100% natural. All the leaves are hand-picked and the tea is BRC certified (global standard for food safety). Now…are there any other reasons you need before you try this?! A box of Buchu tea leaves retails for around R26. It also comes in teabag form for your convenience.

xxx

5 Comments on “Buchu Tea”

  1. I found this blog very interesting and shares quite good information on buchu tea, the author also shares some useful and beneficial information on this tea.

  2. Dom says:

    I have recently been drinking this buchu tea – great stuff – and have been telling all and sundry about it. Enjoy!

  3. Frans Thomas Grey says:

    I am using buchu tea and it is excelent for bladder problems.But I am not sure how many cups can I drink a day


Leave a Reply

