Trail Running in Tokai

6am Sunrise in Tokai Forest

I woke up at 5 O’clock on Saturday to a misty, blustery wet morning and had major thoughts about just curling deeper under my warm feather duvet… ’cause that’s what normal people do, right? The First Ascent Trail run was starting at 06h30 and I’d committed earlier in the week to running it. The things I get myself into!

It’s been a good two years since the last time my trail shoes came face to face with so much mud! I laugh thinking back to how squeamish I used to be about getting wet and muddy but as my ex boyfriend would always say,
“It’s not trail running if you don’t jump in the puddles!” I have to say, the boy was right…There’s nothing quite like bounding your way through mountain streams, dodging big loose stones and having mud splattered all up your legs while witnessing the sun rise on an early Spring morning. I would go so far as to say it’s probably one of the best things about living in Cape Town; being able to go for early morning runs in the mountains.

The route snaked its way through the Tokai forest, up above the surrounding vineyards of what I think was either Buitenverwachting or Klein Constantia? I must say the first 7 or 8km were quite undulating with more ups than downs, but what made the entire run so much fun was that I was running with two friends and we chatted the WHOLE time which really took my mind off the never-ending uphills! My intention wasn’t to get a certain time, but just to enjoy the general vibe- get some endorphins for the day and give my legs a little wake-up call after their long holiday in lazy-land.

I thought I’d be uber stiff on Sunday…considering I hadn’t run anything close to 15km in many many, many months- but I think yoga has definitely helped in this regard. Yayy! At least I know something’s working!! So, after Saturday’s glorious run and the fact that it’s almost summer… I’ve now become more motivated to get off my beeee-hind, lace up my running shoes and hit the road (or trail!)

Here’s to sweaty summery runs! And being able to indulge in more peanut butter

(Wait, did I just say that out loud?!)

One Comment on “Trail Running in Tokai”

  1. […] Comments « Trail Running in Tokai […]


Leave a Reply

