Hot, Hotter, Hottest…

Yesterday was hot. Like REALLY hot!!!

It seems that the Southern part of South Africa is experiencing a bit of a heat-wave. Usually when the temperature exceeds the norm, us muggles flock to the beach after work, find the nearest pool or take cover within a (well) air-conditioned building. Apparently I decided to ignore that memo!

At 16h15 yesterday afternoon when it was still about 38 degrees C, I headed out the door with my mat and water bottle, ready to brave the brutal heat of a Bikram yoga class. WHAT WAS I THINKING????!!! To be honest, when it was over and I’d had time to re-compose myself, I took a few breaths and realised I actually felt better and that my life wouldn’t be ending quite yet. Boy, was it HOTTTTTTTT !!!!!

You want to know the worst part though? Today is probably hotter than yesterday. I swear! But it didn’t stop me from getting out of bed at 5.30 for a morning gym session. Nope.

You see, I drew up an exercise schedule for the week- something I don’t normally do. They say that if you write stuff down in your calendar/diary, like making time to train or whatever it is that’s important to you- you’re more likely to stick to it. Turns out “they” are right!! And the sense of satisfaction and accomplishment that comes with it? They’re right about that too. It’s a really good way to keep yourself accountable and “on track”, especially if you’re like me and spent most of December horizontal on a piece of furniture with a bowl of Hershey’s Kisses at your side.

Am I painting a bad picture of myself?

Oh well, we all have our weaknesses

………… right?!

Do you ever make “schedules” for things that you would normally put off? Has it worked for you?

3 Comments on “Hot, Hotter, Hottest…”

  1. ceciliag says:

    Oh dear. that calendar is on for it! You could have done your Bikram on the footpath in that heat! c

  2. Tandy says:

    hi, Celi sent me visiting! I so agree, if you mean to do something diarise it – it really makes it harder to say NO then. Hope today is cooler – my office is unbearable 🙂


Leave a Reply

