Product review: Gluten-free flapjack mix

I’ve had this box of flapjack mix in my house for at least 3 months and finally decided to open it and see what it was all about..

Wellness Warehouse launched their own brand of gluten-free mixes a while ago and I noticed that they’re in fact very reasonably priced! I think the flapjack mix was roughly R29? Not bad considering most other G.F mixes are close to R40 or R50! I think it’s because most of them are imported.

These ones don’t contain any weird artificial preservatives and additives which is nice to know:)

I was a bit hesitant to try them in the beginning because in my experience all gluten-free flours that I’ve baked with have left a very ‘crumbly’ product. These were not crumbly in the slightest! I did notice however that the actual mix contained quite a bit of raising agent (as the texture was a bit too “cake-like”) and I found I needed to add at least double the amount of milk the recipe called for, just to thin down the batter and allow for a flatter and more even flapjack.

The only ingredients that you need are 3 eggs and some milk. I used soy milk just because I like the flavour.

Taste-wise they were great but it must be noted that you need to season the mix with a pinch of salt before cooking. I decided to flavour my ‘jacks’ with dried strawberries and simply stirred them into the batter.

I served them with a drizzle of honey and a few raw almonds. They were delish and made about 20  medium size flapjacks.

xxx


4 Comments on “Product review: Gluten-free flapjack mix”

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Wow, I’m getting hungry just by looking at your post already =)

  2. beingbrazen says:

    Looks awesome. Need to try the flapjacks next. You should try the brownies, they are so delicious.


Leave a comment