Disasters and disappointments

On Saturday morning I received this email from the Knysna marathon organisers:

“Dear Tessa
Due to flooding and serious safety concerns the 2012 Forest Marathon is cancelled.

Regards
The Race Team”

Obviously I was really bumbed about not being able to run the race but thinking about how terrible the conditions were, I doubt I would have lasted 10Km in the ceaseless, pouring rain. It was coming down in buckets!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Another thing that annoyed me slightly was that I had carbo-loaded rather adequately the day before – starting with snacks in the car..

Sesame pretzel sticks dipped in peanut butter

A few too many choc-chip muffins! I baked these the night before and you wouldn’t believe it but they took me a total of about 12 minutes to prepare! So quick and easy.

I was given this pre-mix by Wellness Warehouse a few months ago and it’s been sitting patiently in my grocery cupboard waiting to be baked into sugary chocolatey treats. Thankfully I had my rugby-playing, food-hoover of a brother to assist in the eating department šŸ˜‰

A chicken burger and half a pizza later, I decided I was more than well-fueled for Saturday.

Every cloud has a silver lining

Although the disappointment of having no race to run left me feeling rather dispirited, the upside was the idea of brunch at Ile de Pain! Think of this place as South Africa’s bakery Mecca.

The food was glorious and quelled all my down-cast feelings. Don’t you love how food can do that? (Although I must say that it can also be a very slippery slope. hashtag emotional eating!)

French toast with berries and Mascarpone.

Almond croissant. If you find a better croissant in SA.. let me know!!!!

What do you do in Knysna when it’s pouring with rain? Yip, we asked ourselves that very question. Thankfully the 5-star Turbine Hotel came to our rescue. The place is very unique and you can read all about it here. They have a nice big open bar area with two flat-screen TV’s, so of course the boys were only too happy to make themselves comfortable with a brewskie in hand and a chance to catch some of the rugby.

I decidedĀ  to indulge in a glass of bubbles.

 

It was a pleasurable way to spend the afternoon… but in all honesty I would much rather haveĀ  run the race and gotten muddy and sweaty with blisters on my feet.

But that’s just me.

ile de Pain logo sourced here.

 

 

 

One Comment on “Disasters and disappointments”

  1. Andrew says:

    Wow Tessa, pity about the run but I enjoyed your article, I know where to go on a rainy day in Knysna with clients which will happen again soon and possibly dodge-weather too.


Leave a Reply

