A hot new favourite: DV Chocolates

On Saturday I was introduced to DV Artisan Chocolates.   I immediately recognised the packaging as I’ve seen it on offer at a number of retail outlets. You’ve probably seen it too? It’s beautiful. The actual factory has made its home in the manor house at The Spice Route Winery just outside Paarl.

Unfortunately I’d just eaten half my body weight in food at the farm’s restaurant (more on that soon!)and the thought of forcing myself through a full-on chocolate tasting was just too much! But I did manage to sample a couple of pieces. I mean, really… who was I kidding?

The company is owned by husband and wife, Cornell and Peter De Villiers and what makes their chocolate so unique is that they use single origin beans. So they know exactly which part of the world (specifically Africa) their beans come from. It’s like the concept of terroir in wine, I suppose? This is something I quite like.

‘I’ll have a Madagascar 70% cacao bar please’

There’s no need to persuade me when it comes to buying chocolate. Especially when it’s local. The richer, darker, deeper, smoother the better and I don’t mind paying top dollar for it. (We all have our little indulgences!)

Check out the entire range of DV chocolates here.

I was lucky to snag a small slab of their new Cafe range which comes beautifully packaged. Perfect for gifts!! I’m not going to hype up my experience too much on the blog but really, if you love chocolate and you’re looking for something different and interesting to do on weekends with friends from ‘out-of-town’ … this is definitely something I would recommend! Plus, the venue has a killer view that’s sure to bring a Joburger to tears. Just saying.

Did you know that there’s actually a specific way to ‘taste’ chocolate? Me neither!

The following is taken from DV Chocolates website:

Sight
Look at the chocolate. The surface should be free of blemishes with a radiant sheen and even surface. Also observe the colour as chocolate comes in a rainbow of brown tints from pinks and purples to reds and oranges.

Hearing
Break a piece of chocolate and listen for the sound it makes.  Good quality chocolate should break with a resounding “SNAP” ← (Best sound in the world, am I right chocoholics?!)

Touch
Hold the piece of chocolate between your fingers and allow it to melt. Rub your fingers together to test its smoothness.

Smell
Now smell the chocolate on your fingers, taking in the full aroma. Flavour is the combined sensation of aroma and taste, so inhaling the chocolate’s fragrance and noting its profile will prepare your taste buds. Mass produced chocolate is easily identified by its overpowering smell of vanilla and sugar, whilst good quality chocolate is all about wondrous aromas – woody, spicy, fruity and floral smells.

Taste
Place the chocolate on your tongue and let it begin to melt before chewing a few times. Bitterness and acidity are an integral part of chocolate flavour, but did you find them well balanced? How did you experience the ‘mouth feel’ – was it smooth, velvety, dry, waxy or grainy?

The Finish

After you swallow, you should be left with a long, lingering flavour  – an intense and strong reminder of your taste experience.

*Sighs dreamily*

Thankfully I have some DV stashed away in a secret place for emergencies;) Sadly, I know it shan’t stay there very long…

2 Comments on “A hot new favourite: DV Chocolates”

  1. Edwina says:

    For goodness sake now I feel like chocolate and there is none in the house. Must dash to the corner shop for Lindt since here in Dubai this South African beauty is not available…


Leave a Reply

