A chocolate pancake as big as your face

Hi guys!

Just thought I’d grab 5 minutes to publish a quick post before Friday Fever sets in…

What do you eat on weekends?

At Food24 we like to make a ‘thing’ about sharing all our braai recipes on Fridays because we know our readers luuuurve to slap some wors on the fire and sit back with an ice cold beer or two (who doesn’t?!).  But since it’s Winter in Cape Town (STILL!), I sometimes struggle to get into the “braaing spirit”. I’d much rather have someone pour me a glass of red wine and let me slurp hot soup.

This on-going chilly weather needs to be kept at bay!!!!!

Here’s the thing… my usual breakfast of warm creamy oats is starting to reach it’s boredom peak. Don’t get me wrong, I love them and there are a million different ways to eat them, but there are also moments when a change is welcome.

I made this pancake last Sunday for breakfast after I looked out the window, saw the gloom and experienced a deep dispriting feeling in the bottom of my stomach. To combat the onset of  SAD symptoms, I made pancakes. Actually it was just one. A big one. And it left me feeling a hundred times better:)

I didn’t have any cake flour on hand. What? So I ended up winging it and used chickpea flour instead. It turned out a little nutty in flavour and the texture was deliciously light and fluffy! I’m definitely going to make this again. Who needs cake flour anyway?!

 Chocolate pancake for a gloomy day

1/3 cup chickpea flour

2 tsp cocoa

Pinch of salt

2 tsp ground flaxseed meal

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

1 egg – beaten

2 Tbs olive oil

3 Tbs milk

2 Tbs agave

Mix together the chickpea flour, cocoa, salt, flaxseed, baking powder and cinnamon in a small mixing bowl. Combine the egg with the oil, milk and agave making sure that it’s all well-mixed.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients a little at a time stirring to remove any lumps, add the rest of the liquid until it forms a smooth batter.

Heat a medium-size frying pan on medium to high heat. Melt ½ Tbs butter and pour the batter into the pan. Turn down the heat. Cook  for 3 – 4 minutes or until the pancake has set slightly on the outside and bubbles begin to appear in the middle. Flip the pancake and cook for 2 minutes on the other side. Transfer to a plate and enjoy as is, or add a topping of your choice.

One Comment on “A chocolate pancake as big as your face”

  1. ceciliag says:

    Wow.. cool.. how do you make chickpea flour. I am in the boonies no special flour shops around here.. Can i make it out of dried chickpeas? lovely pancake.. c


Leave a Reply

