Weekend highlights

Pic: capetownlive.com

1. Breakfast at Clarkes with my little brother and his girlfriend

It’s always nice to catch up (he lives in PE so I hardly get to see him). I ordered the stuffed omelette which was surprisingly enjoyable! I’m rather captious regarding egg dishes in restaurants but for R55 I thought it was a great deal.  It came with a filling of goat’s cheese, grilled mushrooms, smoked aubergine, tomatoes, and zucchini.

One thing that surprised me was that Clarkes didn’t have Bovril?! My brother asked for some to put on his toast but the (very pretty!) waitress said that they ‘don’t do Bovril’. Really? They don’t even have a staff Bovril jar? This is South Africa. Maybe it’s just me but what kitchen in this country doesn’t have Bovril?! (Don’t answer that vegetarians!)

2. I got my annual pass for the cable car!

With this, I can go up and down Table Mountain (aka one of the 7 wonders of the natural world!) as much as I like and as often as I like 🙂 Hellooooo summer sundowners! Yesterday I hiked up Platteklip Gorge and then took the car down. The trail was really busy so it took us about an hour to get to the top.

Nearly at the top..

Made it!

3. I got a new camera!!!!

I went to Orms on Saturday morning (Sheesh, are they always that busy??!) and picked up my beautiful new Nikon. I’ve only ever shot with a Canon so this is going to take a while to get used to but I’m beyond excited!!! No more hazy, grainy, scratchy pics around here 😉

4. I was consumed by this book!

Babylon’s Ark is the story of Lawrence Anthony‘s rescue mission of the animals that were neglected in the Baghdad Zoo during the Iraqi war. So hectic!

Massive eye-opener!

Leave a Reply

