Webersburg

Wine farms and weekends go together like strawberries and cream.

As a culinary student in Stellenbosch, I don’t recall a single weekend that didn’t involve wine tasting.  I even remember driving over the pass to Franschhoek with my friend Leander at 11am after a weekday lecture to taste a wine that she wanted to serve at her final exam. I cannot believe we went through so much trouble, and looking back, it’s hard to imagine that was such a normal part of everyday life.

Now that I live in the city, I feel that I don’t often get the chance to put aside a generous chunk of time like that, even on weekends. which is why when my friend Isabeau from Webersburg invited myself and Vanessa to spend a day and a night at the estate, I accepted without a moment’s hesitation, because it meant I had to make the time. And I’m so glad that I did!

Webersburg sits on the slopes of the breath-taking Helderberg mountain range and is one of Stellenbosch’s leading boutique family-run wine estates. The farm is known for its beautifully matured Cabernet Sauvignon, but it also produces a striking Sauvignon Blanc and MCC.

We spent our night in the Webersburg manor house, a building that dates back to 1786. Large rooms, wooden floors and antique relics welcomed us and transported us back to 18th Century Stellenbosch. Our room however, had more of a modern touch –  a big TV, bar fridge, air-conditioning and the most amazing sensory shower.  The view from the bath though was my favourite! Have a look…

Webersburg is synonymous with elegant Cape weddings. (In wedding season they have at least one wedding every weekend!) I actually had my ICA graduation there and I can truly say that it’s a beautiful venue for special occasions.

Our stay included a lot of eating. The team at Webersburg treated us to canapes the evening of our arrival, a full English breakfast the next morning and lunch at the tasting room’s bistro, which meant we left feeling as full as over sized ticks. I was thoroughly impressed with the tasting room. It’s sophisticated and tasteful while still having a very inviting and warm atmosphere. We sat out on the deck and soaked up a good three hours of sunshine while getting to taste items off the new bistro menu. Our meal started with some French onion soup and a chorizo and bean cassoulet. Portions are generous so if you are looking for something light, it’s probably best to share something.

Highlights included the beef bourguignon pie that came with a topping of crispy phyllo pastry. Both Vanessa and I agreed that it was delicious – largely due to the wholegrain mustard that the chef had added. Desserts are also worth mentioning (when are they ever not?!). We sampled the apple tart tartin which was infused with a combination of sweet delicate spices. A splendid finish to our glorious lunch.

A big thank you to Webersburg and Isabeau for having us to stay. I already have plans for a return visit in the Spring!

Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post. I was a guest of Webersburg and therefore all views are my own.

Leave a Reply

